STATE OF NEW JERSEY
PUBLIC EMPLOYMENT RELATIONS COMMISSION
BEFORE THE DIRECTOR OF UNFAIR PRACTICES

In the Matter of

STATE OF NEW JERSEY (COLLEGE OF
MEDICINE AND DENTISTRY),

Respondent,

-and- DOCKET NO. CI-82-4

JESSIE LEE HELMS,

Charging Party.

SYNOPSIS

The Director of Unfair Practices declines to issue
a complaint with respect to an Unfair Practice Charge since the
Charging Party did not assert that any of the claimed unfair
practices occurred within the six months of the filing of the
Unfair Practice Charge. Further, the Charging Party failed to
designate those portions of the Act claimed to be violated by
the Respondent.
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STATE OF NEW JERSEY
PUBLIC EMPLOYMENT RELATIONS COMMISSION
BEFORE THE DIRECTOR OF UNFAIR PRACTICES

In the Matter of

STATE OF NEW JERSEY (COLLEGE OF
MEDICINE AND DENTISTRY),

Respondent,
-and- DOCKET NO. CI-82-4
JESSIE LEE HELMS,

Charging Party.

REFUSAL TO ISSUE COMPLAINT

An Unfair Practice Charge was filed with the Public
Employment Relations Commission (the "Commission") on July 16,
1981, by Jessie Lee Helms (the "Charging Party") against the
State of New Jersey (College of Medicine and Dentistry) (the
"Respondent") alleging that the Respondent was engaging in unfair
practices within the meaning of the New Jersey Employer—-Employee
Relations Act, N.J.S.A. 34:13A-1 et seq. (the "Act") .

N.J.S.A. 34:13A-5.4(c) sets forth in pertinent part
that the Commission shall have the power to prevent anyone from

engaging in any unfair practice, and that it has the authority
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to issue a complaint stating the unfair practice charge. L/
The Commission has delegated its authority to issue complaints
to the undersigned and has established a standard upon which

an unfair practice complaint may be issued. This standard pro-
vides that a complaint shall issue if it appears that the alle-
gations of the charging party, if true, may constitute an unfair
practice within the meaning of the Act. 2/ The Commission's
rules provide that the undersigned may decline to issue a
complaint. 3/

For the reasons stated below the undersigned has
determined that the Commission's complaint issuance standards
have not been met.

Pursuant to N.J.S.A. 34:13A-5.4(c) the Commission is
precluded from issuing a complaint where the unfair practice
charge has not been filed within six months of the occurrence
of the alleged unfair practice. More specifically, N.J.S.A.

34:13A-5.4(c) provides: "... provided that no complaint shall

1/ N.J.S.A. 34:13A-5.4(c) provides: "The commission shall
have exclusive power as hereinafter provided to prevent
anyone from engaging in any unfair practice ... Whenever
it is charged that anyone has engaged or is engaging in
any such unfair practice, the commission, or any desig-
nated agent thereof, shall have authority to issue and
cause to be served upon such party a complaint stating
the specific unfair practice and including a notice of
hearing containing the date and place of hearing before
the commission or any designated agent thereof ... "

2/ N.J.A.C. 19:14-2.1

_3_/ N.JOA.C. 19:14_2.3
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issue based upon any unfair practice occurring more than
6 months prior to the filing of the charge unless the person
aggrieved thereby was prevented from filing such charge in-
which event the 6 months period shall be computed from the
day he was no longer so prevented."

Further, the Commission's rules state that an unfair

practice charge shall contain inter alia:

A clear and concise statement of the
facts constituting the alleged unfair
practice, including, where known, the
time and place of occurrence of the
particular acts alleged and the names

of respondent's agents or other repre-
sentatives by whom committed and a
statement of the portion or portions

of the Act alleged to have been violated.
(Emphasis added) 4/

Accordingly, it is incumbent upon the Charging Party
to allege the occurrence of unfair practices within the six
month limitation requirement and to allege the specific sub-
section(s) of N.J.S.A. 34:13A-5.4(a) and/or (b) which form the
basis of the alleged statutory violation. The undersigned has
determined that in the absence of such allegations, a complaint

5/

may not issue. =

I/ N.J.A.C. 19:14-1.3

5/ See In re Union County Welfare Board, D.U.P. No. 80-8,

- 5 NJPER 473 (Y 10238 1979); and In re NOrth Warren
Regional Board of Education, D.U.P. No. 78-7, 4 NJPER 55
(9 4026 1977)
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Subsequent to the filing of the instant Unfair Practice
Charge, by letter dated July 17, 1981, the undersigned informed
the Charging Party that the Charge could not be processed further
unless it was amended, pursuant to N.J.A.C. 19:14-1.5, to include
a clear and concise statement of the Charge as well as the time
and place of occurrence of the particular acts alleged to con-
stitute the unfair practice. The undersigned directed the Charuing
Party's attention to the relevant six month limitation provision <§g?/
of N.J.S.A. 34:13A-5.4(c) and advised that a compla*nt would not ¢§F¢§;
issue if the Charging Party failed to allege the Occurrence of an
unfair practice within the prescribed six montP limitation period.
The undersigned has not received a reply to th€ July 17, 1981
letter, nor has the Charge been amended, as yequested.

Accordingly, as the Charging Party has not included in
its Charge the time of occurrence of the condQCt alleged to consti-
tute the unfair practice within the six month statutory limitation
period, and, further, as the undersigned cannot, in the absence
of an amendment, discern the gravamen of the charge on the basis

of the statement presented, the undersig¢h€d declines to issue a

complaint.

BY ORDER OF THE DIRECTOR
OF UNFAIR PRACTICES

(20 S e
Carl Kurtzmar, Dii(ifj}

DATED: August 27, 1981
Trenton, New Jersey
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